clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three In the Ring

After years of cleaning up the backlog of neglected Cowboys from the '70s (seriously, why weren't Lee Roy Jordan, Bob Hayes and Rayfield Wright inducted before 1988?), Jerry Jones got his chance to induct some of his players. And he did it in typical Jones' style, announcing that the famed "Triplets," Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin and Emmitt Smith would all enter the Cowboys Ring of Honor together. The trio will be inducted at halftime of the Cowboys-Redskins Monday Night game September 19th.

The move should give Irvin a minor boost in his quest to enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame. In recent years the Canton candidacies of Hayes, Wright and Cliff Harris were derailed by critics who pointed out that none had even entered their team's pantheon.

My thanks to reader Sean who asks, which other '90s heroes will Jerry induct?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys