clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Final Cuts Made -- More Moves on the Horizon?

The Cowboys cut 16 players to reach the league mandated 53. They also consummated a trade, picking up OLB Scott Fujita from the Kansas City Chiefs for a 2006 sixth round pick and a conditional 2007 pick. They were also reported to be close to a deal with WR Peerless Price .

Their dealing may not be done, as the team thinned its safety corps. Sixth round draftee Justin Beriualt was placed on injured reserve, meaning he will miss the entire season, in order to repair a damaged knee. Dallas also released FSs Lynn Scott, Rich Coady and SS Woody Danzler. Depth will be needed at both safety positions.

Here is a rundown of the positions:

QB (3) Dallas keeps Drew Bledsoe, Tony Romo and Drew Henson;

FB (1) Erik Bickerstaff was let go, meaning Lousaka Polite is the only FB on the roster;

RB (4) Keylon Kincade got his expected release meaning Anthony Thomas, Marion Barber and Tyson Thompson join Julius Jones on the squad.

TE (3) Tony Curtis and Sean Ryan were cut. The big surprise has deep snapper Jeff Robinson also being released;

WR (5) More moves may be in store here. Tom Crowder got his walking papers, but Quincy Morgan and Terrence Copper survived. However, if Peerless Price is signed, one of these players will likely be released.

OL (9) Matt Tarullo and Tyson Walter were cut. Ben Noll and Stephen Peterman stay. The surprise has Torrin Tucker beating out Kurt Vollers.

DL (8) Leo Carson missed the cut, which means four rookies, Marcus Spears, Chris Canty, Jay Ratliff and undrafted free agent Thomas Johnson make an NFL roster;

OLB (5) Kalen Thornton was placed on IR with a knee injury. Fujita is a plugger, who makes the most of his skills. He's also a good special team's player. He may challenge Al Singleton for the starting spot on the strong side. Kevin Burnett backs up Singleton and Demarcus Ware. Eric Ogbogu also makes the team;

ILB (4) Keith O'Neil is cut, meaning Dat Nguyen, Bradie James, Scott Shanle and Ryan Fowler stay;

CB (6) Jacques Reeves, Nate Jones and Bruce Thornton join the nickel trio of Aaron Glenn, Terence Newman and Anthony Henry;

SS (1) Roy Williams has no backup at the moment;

FS (1) Keith Davis does not have a backup at the moment;

DS (1) Rookie Jon Condo beats out the veteran Robinson;

P (1) Mat McBrian nailed this job down a long time ago;

K (1) Jose Cortez has an uneasy hold on this position;

Comments: Dallas needs more safeties. Look for Ogbogu to perhaps be traded to get a backup.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys