clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aikman, Wright, Irvin Make Final HOF Cutdown

Retired Cowboys Troy Aikman, Rayfield Wright and Michael Irvin are among the 15 finalists for the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of 2006.

Aikman and former Eagles and Packers DE Reggie White appear the surest candidates for induction this year, leaving three open spaces for the remaining 13 nominees. Wright and Irvin were the final players cut each of the past two seasons, raising questions among many Cowboys fans about an anti-Cowboys bias among the selectors.

The field, in alphabetical order is:
1. Troy Aikman, QB, Cowboys
2. Harry Carson, LB, Giants
3. L.C. Greenwood, DE, Steelers
4. Russ Grimm, OG, Redskins
5. Claude Humphrey, DE, Falcons
6. Michael Irvin, WR, Cowboys
7. Bob Keuchenberg, OG, Dolphins
8. John Madden, Coach, Raiders
9. Art Monk, WR, Redskins
10. Warren Moon, QB, Oilers
11. Derrick Thomas, LB, Chiefs
12. Thurman Thomas, RB, Bills
13. Reggie White, DE, Packers
14. Rayfield Wright, OT, Cowboys
15. Gary Zimmerman, OT, Vikings

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys