clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

From rookies to the Hall of Fame

A couple of Dallas Cowboys rookies cashed in on some bonus money this season. Demarcus Ware earned an extra $1.39 million and fellow rookie Marcus Spears earned $1.1 million based on playing time incentives. That's a nice chunk of change for the two youngsters. Let's hope next year they earn big bonuses based on making the Super Bowl.

Lots of talk about the Hall of Fame candidates and the three Cowboys eligible this year. Troy Aikman is up for the first time and Michael Irvin is up for his second time. The Seniors Committee added Rayfield Wright to the list again this year.

I would have to believe that Troy is a lock for first year induction. Irvin's recent troubles with the law could once again hurt his chances although it never hurt Lawrence Taylor. The fact that Rayfield Wright still isn't in the HOF is a travesty.

The Cowboys have seven members of the HOF, a woefully low number. They are:

  • Tom Landry
  • Tex Schramm
  • Roger Staubach
  • Tony Dorsett
  • Bob Lilly
  • Randy White
  • Mel Renfro

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys