clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aikman, Wright make the Hall of Fame

Troy Aikman, Rayfield Wright

The Hall of Fame vote took place this morning and former Cowboys Troy Aikman and Rayfield Wright were tabbed to be enshrined in Canton, Ohio. A big congratulations to both players from Blogging The Boys and the Cowboys faithful.

Troy Aikman gets in on the first vote as it should be. Aikman was an extraordinary leader with an accuracy that was devastating. Leading his team to 3 Super Bowl wins in 4 years, he showed that he was a big-game player and a first ballot Hall of Famer.

Rayfield Wright was the dominant tackle of the 1970's, a man Joe Greene called the best lineman he played against. After a long and difficult route, the Veteran's Committee finally saw fit to bestow this honor on the original "Big Cat", righting a grievous wrong.

Michael Irvin, dubbed "Playmaker", was passed over for a second straight year. His recent brush with the law may have hurt his chances, and the selections of Aikman and Wright left little room for another Cowboy this year. Let's hope Irvin gets his due next year.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys