clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Ex-Cowboys Make the Hall Of Fame Semi-Finalists Cut

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced the semi-finalists list for the 20011 class. They cut the number of players eligible for this year's vote from 114 to 26. Two prominent ex-Cowboys made the list.

Deion Sanders is eligible for the first time and made the list, along with four other first-time eligible players, Jerome Bettis, Marshall Faulk, Curtis Martin, and Willie Roaf. Sanders will receive strong consideration for entry in his first year, he was one of the best cover corners to ever play the game, and he was a potent threat in the special teams game.

Deion Sanders, CB/KR/PR – 1989-1993 Atlanta Falcons, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1995-99 Dallas Cowboys, 2000 Washington Redskins, 2004-05 Baltimore Ravens

Charles Haley makes the list again for the second year. Haley is remembered for being the pass rush key to the Cowboys dominating defense in the 90s Super Bowl run. He's also remembered by people who have read the book Boys Will Be Boys as one of the craziest, creepiest guys around in the locker room. On the field though, he was a monster.

Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

So what do you think? Does Deion get in in his first year? Does Haley have a chance with guys like Sanders, Faulk, Bettis and Roaf on the ballot?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys