clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eight Dallas Cowboys Recognized In Early Fan Pro Bowl Vote

Cowboys fans have been derelict in their duties.

Only one Cowboys player is the top vote getter at his position in the NFC Pro Bowl balloting so far this year. Predictably, that player is DeMarcus Ware. So if you haven't voted for your favorite players yet, go to and cast your vote. Multiple times. Every day.

With Jason Witten and rookie Dan Bailey, two other Cowboys rank third at their respective positions. In total, eight Cowboys currently rank in the top-five of their respective position in the NFC Pro Bowl vote, the NFL announced on Wednesday. In addition to Ware, Witten and Bailey, Jay Ratliff, Gerald Sensabaugh, Mat McBriar, Danny McCray and Tony Fiammetta have been voted into the top five of their respective position by the fan vote accumulated through November 30.

Overall, the NFC vote is completely and utterly dominated by the Packers, who have 21 players within the top five at the 18 available positions. The Packers are followed by the 49ers with 16 players, the Bears with ten and the Lions are tied with the Cowboys at eight players each. Philly has six, the Giants four and Washington one.

After the break we take a more detailed look at this year's Pro Bowl vote.

The fan vote counts for one third of towards a Pro Bowl spot, with the players and coaches votes accounting for another third each. In total the NFC and AFC squads will each have a 43-man roster for the 2012 Pro Bowl game that will be played on Sunday, January 29, 2012 in Hawaii.

AFC and NFC All-Star squads are based on the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group’s vote counts one-third toward determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl.

The 2012 Pro Bowl voting is still open so there's still time to go vote. You can vote as often as you like for as many or as little players as you like. Balloting will conclude on Monday, December 19 after the MNF game. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on December 21-22, and teams will be announced December 27.

Rick Gosselin from the DMN was asked a couple of days ago how many Cowboys would make the Pro Bowl. His answer:

More than anyone expects because of the fan vote. America turns out for America's team and that constitutes a third of the vote. That's why the Cowboys land six Pro Bowlers in a 6-10 season like in 2010. Most players get rewarded for winning. Dallas players have long been rewarded for being Cowboys. That said, Witten, Murray and Romo have the strongest cases on offense, Ware and Lee on defense and Bailey on special teams.

Looks like some of the players Gosselin mentions still have a way to go, as they don't appear in the fan vote lists yet.

Listed below are the Pro Bowl fan vote totals for all NFC position groups through November 30:

Rank Name Team Votes
1 Aaron Rodgers GB 961,818
2 Drew Brees NO 655,655
3 Cam Newton CAR 390,281
4 Matthew Stafford DET 382,940
5 Eli Manning NYG 227,692
Running Backs
1 Adrian Peterson MIN 680,428
2 Matt Forte CHI 563,441
3 LeSean McCoy PHI 553,868
4 Frank Gore SF 356,393
5 Michael Turner ATL 214,656
1 John Kuhn GB 189,046
2 Bruce Miller SF 52,311
3 Jed Collins NO 45,688
4 Tyler Clutts CHI 45,520
5 Tony Fiammetta DAL 39,228
Wide Receivers
1 Calvin Johnson DET 743,335
2 Greg Jennings GB 602,323
3 Steve Smith CAR 465,977
4 Larry Fitzgerald ARI 435,550
5 Jordy Nelson GB 238,341
Tight Ends
1 Jimmy Graham NO 434,436
2 Tony Gonzalez ATL 234,749
3 Jason Witten DAL 230,927
4 Jermichael Finley GB 228,291
5 Vernon Davis SF 119,465
1 Chad Clifton GB 244,037
2 Bryan Bulaga GB 228,719
3 Jeff Backus DET 140,077
4 Joe Staley SF 131,877
5 Anthony Davis SF 108,917
1 T.J. Lang GB 197,247
2 Josh Sitton GB 169,220
3 Mike Iupati SF 139,585
4 Jahri Evans NO 133,084
5 Steve Hutchinson MIN 128,739
1 Scott Wells GB 266,549
2 Jonathan Goodwin SF 118,877
3 David Baas NYG 108,510
4 Dominic Raiola DET 100,364
5 Roberto Garza CHI 94,621
Defensive Ends
Rank Name Team Votes
1 Jared Allen MIN 488,239
2 Jason Babin PHI 230,570
3 Julius Peppers CHI 203,876
4 Osi Umenyiora NYG 123,124
5 Charles Johnson CAR 114,589
Defensive Tackles
1 Ndamukong Suh DET 387,699
2 Justin Smith SF 326,730
3 Cullen Jenkins PHI 302,805
4 B.J. Raji GB 218,854
5 Jay Ratliff DAL 86,558
1 DeMarcus Ware DAL 356,194
2 Clay Matthews GB 335,566
3 Brian Orakpo WAS 175,961
4 Lance Briggs CHI 158,587
5 Sean Weatherspoon ATL 123,662
1 Patrick Willis SF 257,776
2 Desmond Bishop GB 240,564
3 Brian Urlacher CHI 182,686
4 A.J. Hawk GB 141,206
5 Navorro Bowman SF 111,165
1 Charles Woodson GB 467,472
2 Chris Houston DET 190,706
3 Nnamdi Asomugha PHI 188,026
4 Carlos Rogers SF 164,195
5 Charles Tillman CHI 122,865
Strong Safety
1 Charlie Peprah GB 88,409
2 Roman Harper NO 86,087
3 Kam Chancellor SEA 60,960
4 Amari Spievy DET 41,786
5 Kurt Coleman PHI 39,761
Free Safety
1 Morgan Burnett GB 151,085
2 Antrel Rolle NYG 49.573
3 Dashon Goldson SF 44,665
4 Gerald Sensabaugh DAL 37,472
5 Earl Thomas SEA 37,430
Rank Name Team Votes
1 Mason Crosby GB 123,534
2 David Akers SF 92,797
3 Dan Bailey DAL 71,292
4 Jason Hanson DET 50,020
5 Robbie Gould CHI 44,248
1 Andy Lee SF 102,280
2 Tim Masthey GB 61,380
3 Jon Ryan SEA 51,494
4 Mat McBriar DAL 46,774
5 Thomas Morstead NO 31,137
Kick Returners
1 Devin Hester CHI 176,425
2 Randall Cobb GB 76,799
3 Ted Ginn SF 70,429
4 Darren Sproles NO 43,190
5 Percy Harvin MIN 28,839
Special Teamers
1 Jarrett Bush GB 82,522
2 Blake Costanzo SF 44,985
3 Corey Graham CHI 41,776
4 Danny McCray DAL 39,636
5 Colt Anderson PHI 36,442

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys