clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Vegas Sportsbook Sees Cowboys as 10-Game Winners in 2011

New, comments
Totally gratuitous cheerleader pic.
Totally gratuitous cheerleader pic.

Vegas sportsbook Cantor Gaming released the pointspreads for every one of the 256 regular-season NFL games yesterday. Considering that there is this little thing called a lockout going on, it is surprising to see lines open this early, but apparently Vegas can't wait to get the action going early enough. In case the lockout disrupts the season, Cantor Gaming requires games to be played with 45 days of the original schedule for action.

Going strictly by the spread, Cantor sees the Cowboys as 10-game winners in 2011. If we assume the linesmakers shaded the point spread by 3 points in favor of the home team and correct for that, we also end up with the Cowboys as 10-game winners, but either way, the pointspreads are quite thin on many of the Cowboys games. After the break, a look at the spread for every single Cowboys game.

The lines below are courtesy of Cantor gaming via Pro Football Weekly, who list the spread for every single NFL game scheduled for 2011.

Date
Time (ET)
Opp.
Sun, Sep 11
8:20 pm @NYJ
Sun, Sep 18
4:05 pm @ SF
Mon, Sep 26 8:30 pm WAS
Sun, Oct 2
1:00 pm DET
Sun, Oct 16
4:15 pm @NE
Sun, Oct 23 4:15 pm STL
Sun, Oct 30 8:20 pm @PHI
Sun, Nov 6 1:00 pm SEA
Sun, Nov 13 1:00 pm BUF
Sun, Nov 20 1:00 pm @WAS
Thu, Nov 24 4:15 pm MIA
Sun, Dec 4 4:15 pm @ARI
Sun, Dec 11 8:20 pm NYG
Sat, Dec 17 8:20 pm @TB
Sat, Dec 24 4:15 pm PHI
Sun, Jan 1 1:00 pm @NYG
Favorite Underdog Spread
NYJ
DAL
-4.0
PK
DAL
WAS
-6.0
DAL
DET
-4.0
NE
DAL
-8.0
DAL
STL
-4.5
PHI
DAL
-4.5
DAL
SEA
-6.5
DAL
BUF
-6.0
DAL
WAS
-1.5
DAL
MIA
-4.5
DAL
ARI
-3.5
DAL
NYG
-2.5
TB
DAL -1.0
DAL
PHI
-1.5
NYG
DAL
-2.5

PFW quotes Mike Colbert, Cantor's race and sports book director, on the challenge of setting the spread so far into the future, "I got to tell you, it's hard to predict what's going to happen in Week 12." And as you look at the Cowboys schedule above, the spread on games does indeed narrow considerably starting from the week 11 game at Washington.

Now that you know what Vegas thinks, what's your prediction for the Cowboys 2011 record, assuming there will be 16 regular season games?