clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Super Bowl Odds: Next Year's Favorites Are Not This Year's Winners

Who's your favorite for <em>next</em> year?
Who's your favorite for next year?

The MGM Grand’s sports book in Las Vegas released their 2013 Super Bowl odds today. Yes, I know that the two teams remaining standing at the end of this season were the Giants and the Patriots, but that doesn't necessarily mean that they are automatic favorites to repeat. In fact, far from it.

The odds are stacked against either the Giants or the Patriots making it back to the Super Bowl next year: over the previous eleven Super Bowls, the losing teams have only made the playoffs four times in the following season, not once advancing beyond the divisional round.

Of the winning teams over the last eleven years, the Patriots were the only team that was able to repeat. No other Super Bowl winner even made it back to the conference championships. Incidentally, the last defending Super Bowl champion to win a playoff game in the following year were the 2005 Patriots. Four of the last eleven Super Bowl winners failed to make the playoffs altogether in the following year.

After the break, we look at which teams the Vegas bookmakers see as the favorites for the Super Bowl next year.

The Cowboys open at 20-1, which puts them in the same general vicinity as the Bears, Lions, Falcons, Ravens and Jets. The Vegas bookmakers are not overly impressed by the Giants' Super Bowl run this year and don't even have them as the favorite to win the division in 2013.


Team Odds
New England Patriots 5-1
Green Bay Packers 11-2
Pittsburgh Steelers 6-1
Philadelphia Eagles 6-1
New York Giants 8-1
New Orleans Saints 10-1
San Francisco 49ers 10-1
San Diego Chargers 12-1
Houston Texans 12-1
Chicago Bears 17-1
Detroit Lions 18-1
Atlanta Falcons 18-1
Dallas Cowboys 20-1
Baltimore Ravens 20-1
New York Jets 20-1
Indianapolis Colts 25-1
Tennessee Titans 30-1
Cincinnati Bengals 30-1
Buffalo Bills 50-1
Kansas City Chiefs 50-1
Seattle Seahawks 50-1
Denver Broncos 50-1
Carolina Panthers 50-1
Miami Dolphins 50-1
St. Louis Rams 50-1
Oakland Raiders 60-1
Minnesota Vikings 60-1
Arizona Cardinals 60-1
Cleveland Browns 75-1
Tampa Bay Buccaneers 100-1
Washington Redskins 125-1
Jacksonville Jaguars 150-1

Ten different teams have been crowned NFC champions in the last eleven years. Only the Cowboys, Falcons, Lions, Vikings, 49ers and the Redskins have not won an NFC Championship game over that span.

The Giants won the Super Bowl yesterday, but Vegas doesn't like their chances of repeating. Who is your favorite to take home the Lombardi Trophy next year, and which team looks to have all or most of the pieces in place to become the dominant team of the next four to five years?

Let us know who your NFL underdog is, and why.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys