clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2013: Larry Allen, Charles Haley & Bill Parcells Among Finalists

The Hall Of Fame has narrowed down its list of possible inductees for this year's class. Three of them have a Cowboys' connection.

Wesley Hitt

The Pro Football Hall Of Fame announced 17 names for possible induction this year. Larry Allen, in his first year of eligibility has made the cut. Joining him is Charles Haley, his second-year on the ballot. And we'll go ahead and throw Bill Parcells into the mix, although his time in Dallas is not why he's in contention.

The final decision on who makes it this year will take place on Feb 2nd, the day before the Super Bowl.

Larry Allen was as good a lineman as I've seen play the game. In his time, he was dominant. Notes:

1994-2005 Dallas Cowboys, Selected by Cowboys in 2nd round (46th player overall) of 1994 draft ... Versatile, played every position on offensive line except center during 12 seasons with Dallas ... Named NFL Alumni's Offensive Lineman of the Year in 1997 and the NFL Players Association NFC Lineman of the Year twice (1996-97) ... Named first-team All-Pro seven straight years ... First-team All-NFC six times, second-team once ... Moved to tackle late in 1997 and entire 1998 season, earned All-Pro honors at position

Charles Haley was a one-man wrecking crew who powered two franchises to Super Bowl glory. Notes:

Defensive End/Linebacker ... 6-5, 242 ... James Madison ... 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys ... Selected by 49ers in 4th round (96th player overall) in 1986 draft ... Only player in NFL history to play on five winning Super Bowl teams (XXIII, XXIV, XXVII, XXVIII, XXX) ... Moved to defensive end after trade to Dallas ... Added two more double-digit sack seasons, 1994, 1995 ... Suffered serious back injury, limited to just five games, 1996 ... Twice named NFC Defensive Player of the Year (1990, 1994), voted to five Pro Bowls, named All-Pro twice, once as linebacker, once as defensive end ... Played in six NFC championship games over seven seasons ... Started at right defensive end in Cowboys' 1992, 1993, 1994 conference championships

Bill Parcells achieved glory with the Giants, had some success in New England and with the Jets, and was mediocre in Dallas.

The full list of nominees for 2013:

Larry Allen (G/T), Jerome Bettis (RB), Tim Brown (WR), Cris Carter (WR), Curley Culp (DT/G), Edward DeBartolo Jr. (owner), Kevin Greene (LB), Charles Haley (DE), Art Modell (owner), Jonathan Ogden (OT), Bill Parcells (coach), Andre Reed (WR), Dave Robinson (LB), Warren Sapp (DT), Will Shields (G), Michael Strahan (DE), Aeneas Williams (CB)

So who gets in BTB?

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys