clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dez Bryant, Sean Lee, Jason Hatcher Recognized In Early Fan Pro Bowl Vote

NFL Pro Bowl balloting is underway, and yesterday the NFL announced the leading vote-getters for the 2014 Pro Bowl. Three Cowboys are among the leading vote-getters at their positions in 2014 Pro Bowl voting.


The numbers released by the NFL show that Dez Bryant is the number three wide receiver in fan voting behind Calvin Johnson and A.J. Green, and is also among the top ten vote-getters of all NFL players. Jason Hatcher at defensive tackle and Sean Lee at inside linebacker are the second leading vote-getters at their respective positions and round out the Cowboys players currently showing up on the ballots. If they all end up making the Pro Bowl, it would be the first Pro Bowl nomination for each of the three players.

If you haven't voted for your favorite Cowboys players yet, go to and cast your vote. Multiple times. Every day.

Balloting will conclude Thursday, Dec. 26, and the Pro Bowl players will be announced the next day.

The NFL has done away with the traditional NFC versus AFC Pro Bowl, and instead will implement an unconferenced Pro Bowl for which players will be selected via a "Pro Bowl Draft": The NFL's top two vote-getters on offense and defense become team captains for Deion Sanders' team and Jerry Rice's team. In a fantasy draft style setting, the captains pick from the voted all-stars to form the teams regardless of which conference the players come from.

And since there's bound a way to make money out of this, the Pro Bowl Draft will of course air on NFL Network during the week leading up to the game.

NFL's top-10 Pro Bowl vote-getters
Position Player Team Votes received
QB Peyton Manning Broncos 654,309
QB Drew Brees Saints 540,036
RB Jamaal Charles Chiefs 453,761
WR Calvin Johnson Lions 449,346
RB Marshawn Lynch Seahawks 443,533
RB Adrian Peterson Vikings 410,002
TE Jimmy Graham Saints 376,637
WR A.J. Green Bengals 368,708
RB LeSean McCoy Eagles 349,706
WR Dez Bryant Cowboys 345,850

NFL's leading vote-getters by position
Pos. Player Team Votes
Pos. Player Team Votes
QB Peyton Manning Broncos 654,309 QB Drew Brees Saints 540,036
RB Jamaal Charles Chiefs 453,761 RB Marshawn Lynch Seahawks 443,533
FB Mike Tolbert Panthers 182,773 FB Chris Ogbonnaya Browns 135,692
WR Calvin Johnson Lions 449,346 WR A.J. Green Bengals 368,708
TE Jimmy Graham Saints 376,637 TE Julius Thomas Broncos 278,765
OT Branden Albert Chiefs 120,081 OT Joe Staley 49ers 106,074
G Zane Beadles Broncos 108,105 G Jeff Allen Chiefs 96,187
C Max Unger Seahawks 112,168 C Manny Ramirez Broncos 110,123
K Stephen Gostkowski Patriots 105,182 K Nick Folk Jets 78,764
PR Devin Hester Bears 130,570 PR Trindon Holliday Broncos 107,912
DE J.J. Watt Texans 194,539 DE Mario Williams Bills 185,531
DT Dontari Poe Chiefs 181,342 DT Jason Hatcher Cowboys 164,398
OLB Tamba Hali Chiefs 169,597 OLB Terrell Suggs Ravens 167,522
ILB Kiko Alonso Bills 188,153 ILB Sean Lee Cowboys 151,571
CB Richard Sherman Seahawks 257,196 CB Patrick Peterson Cardinals 189,605
SS Kam Chancellor Seahawks 94,332 SS Eric Berry Chiefs 82,770
FS Earl Thomas Seahawks 195,586 FS Eric Reid 49ers 62,319
P Dustin Colquitt Chiefs 89,051 P Andy Lee 49ers 49,598
ST David Bruton Broncos 75,118 ST Eric Weems Bears 67,012

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys