clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Super Bowl Odds: Ravens And 49ers Are Sooo Yesterday

Out with the old and in with the new. A new season has begun and with it come new Super Bowl odds! Check out these 2014 Super Bowl odds, where yesterday's winner is not tomorrow's favorite.


Vegas sure doesn't waste a lot of time. R.J. Bell of released the 2014 Super Bowl odds in the wee hours of the morning via Twitter. Sure, the Ravens and 49ers were the two teams left standing at the end of this season, but that doesn't mean squat when it comes to next year's odds.

From a historical perspective, the odds are stacked against either of this year's finalists making it back to the Super Bowl next year: over the previous twelve Super Bowls, the losing teams have only made the playoffs five times in the following season, only once (this year's Patriots) advancing beyond the divisional round.

Of the winning teams over the last twelve years, the Patriots were the only team that was able to repeat. No other Super Bowl winner even made it back to the conference championships. Incidentally, the last defending Super Bowl champion to win a playoff game in the following year were the 2005 Patriots. Five of the last twelve Super Bowl winners failed to make the playoffs altogether in the following year, including last year's winners, the Giants.

So let's take look at which teams the Vegas bookmakers see as the favorites for the Super Bowl next year. Like last year, the Patriots open as the favorites for 2014, closely followed by the Broncos and 49ers. The Cowboys open at 30-1, which puts them in the same general vicinity as the Bears and Redskins, but Vegas likes the Giants for the division win in the East. A lot can happen between now and then, after all, the Ravens tied for 13th with 20-1 odds on a similar post-Super Bowl odds ranking last year, and the Redskins won the East with 125-1 Super Bowl odds. So there's always that.

Team Odds Team Odds
New England Patriots 7 to 1 Indianapolis Colts 40 to 1
Denver Broncos 8 to 1 Minnesota Vikings 40 to 1
San Francisco 49ers 8 to 1 San Diego Chargers 40 to 1
Green Bay Packers 10 to 1 Carolina Panthers 50 to 1
Baltimore Ravens 14 to 1 Kansas City Chiefs 50 to 1
Houston Texans 14 to 1 Miami Dolphins 50 to 1
Seattle Seahawks 16 to 1 New York Jets 50 to 1
Atlanta Falcons 18 to 1 Philadelphia Eagles 50 to 1
New Orleans Saints 18 to 1 St. Louis Rams 50 to 1
Pittsburgh Steelers 18 to 1 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 60 to 1
New York Giants 20 to 1 Cleveland Browns 66 to 1
Chicago Bears 30 to 1 Arizona Cardinals 100 to 1
Dallas Cowboys 30 to 1 Buffalo Bills 100 to 1
Washington Redskins 30 to 1 Tennessee Titans 100 to 1
Cincinnati Bengals 35 to 1 Oakland Raiders 150 to 1
Detroit Lions 40 to 1 Jacksonville Jaguars 150 to 1

Eleven different teams have been crowned NFC champions in the last twelve years. Only the Cowboys, Falcons, Lions, Vikings and the Redskins have not won an NFC Championship game over that span.

The Ravens won the Super Bowl yesterday, but Vegas doesn't like their chances of repeating. Who is your favorite to take home the Lombardi Trophy next year? Let us know who your NFL underdog is, and why.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys