clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pet Cat Watch: FWAA Announces Outland, Nagurski Watch Lists For 2013

The NFL isn't the only professional league getting ready to open it's doors to 2013... The NCAA is almost back, too!


What do you mean it's not professional football?

Don't worry, I'm not gonna dive into the rabid inconsistencies in what the NCAA tells us they are about and what actually transpires in their two money producing sports; that's a debate for another forum. Sometimes, I just like to take the cheap shots. I'm sure there will be some that want to take me to task on this one and we can hash it out in the comments section.

For now, let's talk about the actual play on the field. Being that I didn't attend a college that was rich in the tradition of big time college football, I don't have a fever for any particular college team. I did grow up right against the University of Maryland campus, but outside of the pros that pay their players, the DC area is a basketball town through and through. The late Len Bias attended the same high school I'd later graduate from, the great high school coach Morgan Wooten lived in my neighborhood and his famed DeMatha Catholic High School was right down the street from me. That doesn't even get into the icon known as John Thompson and the Georgetown Hoyas.

What that means is that to me, following collegiate football is more about sorting through the players for potential NFLers. Which brings us to this article; the announcement of the Outland and Nagurski Trophy Watchlists for the 2013 football season. The Watchlists are mailed out to members of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) each preseason, of which my draft work and $50 have earned me inclusion. They feature the names of several dozen players that should be well known by writers that cover the college game, as they are seen as the best of the best.

The Outland Trophy, the third-oldest award in college football, celebrates each seasons' to "interior" collegiate lineman. That spans both offense and defense, and although we don't refer to offensive tackles that way, this award does. The only line position ineligible is the edge rusher, the defensive end.

The Bronco Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the nation's top defensive player each season.

The watch lists are fluid, as names will be added or removed as the season progresses, until they whittle the lists down to the finalists and then finally select a winner after the regular season concludes. Still though, if you are looking to get an early jump on a pet cat based on the perceived Cowboys needs, these watchlists are a good place to start. When you look closely at them, you'll see that those on the lists actually outnumber the count of players from each position that get drafted every year. In effect, these are seven-round starter kits for the draftniks out there.

Outland Trophy Watchlist (click on column headers to sort)

First Name Last Name School Position
Calvin Barnett Oklahoma State DT
Austen Bujnoch Cincinnati G
Chris Burnette Georgia G
A.J. Cann South Carolina G
Ryan Carrethers Arkansas State DT
Le'Raven Clark Texas Tech OT
Deandre Coleman California DT
La'el Collins LSU OT
Kevin Danser Stanford G
Anthony Dima Massachusetts OT
Aaron Donald Pittsburgh DT
Dominique Easley Florida DT
Cameron Erving Florida State OT
BJ Finney Kansas State C
Cameron Fleming Stanford OT
Kevin Graf USC OT
Hroniss Grasu Oregon C
Ryan Groy Wisconsin OT
Ra'Shede Hageman Minnesota DT
Trey Hopkins Texas G
Chucky Hunter TCU DT
James Hurst North Carolina OT
Kerry Hyder Texas Tech DT
Gabe Ikard Oklahoma C
Gabe Jackson Mississippi State G
Tré Jackson Florida State G
Ja'Wuan James Tennessee OT
Timmy Jernigan Florida State DT
Anthony Johnson LSU DT
Kaleb Johnson Rutgers OT
Wesley Johnson Vanderbilt OT
Tyler Johnstone Oregon OT
DaQuan Jones Penn State DT
Zac Kerin Toledo C
Cyrus Kouandjio Alabama OT
Tyler Larsen Utah State C
Eric Lefeld Cincinnati OT
Charles Leno Boise State OT
Taylor Lewan Michigan OT
Brandon Linder Miami G
Spencer Long Nebraska G
Antwan Lowery Rutgers G
Cornelius Lucas Kansas State OT
Eathyn Manumaleuna BYU DT
Zack Martin Notre Dame OT
John Martinez USC G
Jake Matthews Texas A&M OT
Daniel McCullers Tennessee DT
Jack Mewhort Ohio State OT
Andrew Miller Virginia Tech C
Morgan Moses Virginia OT
Louis Nix Notre Dame DT
Roosevelt Nix Kent State DT
Andrew Norwell Ohio State G
Kelcy Quarles South Carolina DT
Antonio Richardson Tennessee OT
Cyril Richardson Baylor G
Weston Richburg Colorado State C
Isaac Seumalo Oregon State C
Will Simmons East Carolina G
Jeremiah Sirles Nebraska OT
Anthony Steen Alabama G
Bryan Stork Florida State C
Xavier Su'a-Filo UCLA G
Will Sutton Arizona State DT
Travis Swanson Arkansas C
Brandon Thomas Clemson OT
Laken Tomlinson Duke G
John Urschel Penn State G
Brandon Vitabile Northwestern C
Mason Walters Texas G
Austin Wentworth Fresno State OT
Nikita Whitlock Wake Forest DT
Leonard Williams USC DT
David Yankey Stanford G

Nagursky Trophy Watchlist (click on column headers to sort)

First Name Last Name School Position
Ricardo Allen Purdue DB
Jeremiah Attaochu Georgia Tech DL
Deion Barnes Penn State DL
Calvin Barnett Oklahoma State DL
Anthony Barr UCLA LB
Deion Belue Alabama DB
Bene Benwikere San Jose State DB
Greg Blair Cincinnati LB
Chris Borland Wisconsin LB
Tre Boston North Carolina DB
Carl Bradford Arizona State LB
Morgan Breslin USC DL
Jonathan Brown Illinois LB
Christian Bryant Ohio State DB
Max Bullough Michigan State LB
Jadeveon Clowney South Carolina DL
Ross Cockrell Duke DB
Aaron Colvin Oklahoma DB
Scott Crichton Oregon State DL
Darqueze Dennard Michigan State DB
Quandre Diggs Texas DB
Aaron Donald Pittsburgh DL
Dominique Easley Florida DL
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu Oregon DB
Antone Exum Virginia Tech DB
Devonte Fields TCU DL
Ben Gardner Stanford DL
Justin Gilbert Oklahoma State DB
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix Alabama DB
Ra'Shede Hageman Minnesota DL
Bryce Hager Baylor LB
Andre Hal Vanderbilt DB
Jordan Hicks Texas LB
Adrian Hubbard Alabama LB
Kerry Hyder Texas Tech DL
Andrew Jackson Western Kentucky LB
Shawn Jackson Tulsa LB
Jackson Jeffcoat Texas DL
Timmy Jernigan Florida State DL
A.J. Johnson Tennessee LB
Anthony Johnson LSU DL
Christian Jones Florida State LB
Lamarcus Joyner Florida State DB
Eric Kendricks UCLA LB
Demarcus Lawrence Boise State DL
Shaun Lewis Oklahoma State LB
Craig Loston LSU DB
Aaron Lynch USF DL
Khalil Mack Buffalo LB
Kareem Martin North Carolina DL
Daniel McCullers Tennessee DL
Terrance Mitchell Oregon DB
James Morris Iowa LB
C.J. Mosley Alabama LB
Trent Murphy Stanford LB
Marco Nelson Tulsa DB
Louis Nix Notre Dame DL
Roosevelt Nix Kent State DL
Denzel Nkemdiche Ole Miss LB
Kevin Pierre-Louis Boston College LB
Hayes Pullard USC LB
Loucheiz Purifoy Florida DB
Ed Reynolds Stanford DB
Bradley Roby Ohio State DB
Marcus Rush Michigan State DL
Tyler Scott Northwestern DL
Ryan Shazier Ohio State LB
Shayne Skov Stanford LB
Yawin Smallwood Connecticut LB
Chris Smith Arkansas DL
Hakeem Smith Louisville DB
Will Sutton Arizona State DL
Damian Swann Georgia DB
Stephon Tuitt Notre Dame DL
Jack Tyler Virginia Tech LB
Kyle Van BYU LB
Jason Verrett TCU DB
Nickoe Whitley Mississippi State DB
Nikita Whitlock Wake Forest DL
Leonard Williams USC DL
Ty Zimmerman Kansas State DB

I know that we have plenty of readers that perform double duty in their fandom and follow the college game closely. Place your bets on your pet cats now.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys