clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl Rosters: Michael Irvin Shows His True Cowboys Colors

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

While the Dallas Cowboys scouts will be busy down at the Senior Bowl evaluating college talent, the Cowboys coaching staff will be in Arizona handling one team in the Pro Bowl. And it just so happens that team will be made up of a bunch of Cowboys thanks to Michael Irvin. The Pro Bowl scrapped the AFC vs. NFC format a few years ago and have done a draft instead. This year's captains were Cris Carter and Michael Irvin. True to his nature, Irvin still bleeds blue-and-silver. He grabbed almost every Cowboys player and coach Jason Garrett.

Michael Irvin didn't hide his allegiances during Wednesday's Pro Bowl draft. The Dallas Cowboys' Hall of Fame receiver picked seven Cowboys, including quarterback Tony Romo and running back DeMarco Murray, as the alumni captain of Team Irvin during the televised event at the Arizona Biltmore. If seven Cowboys weren't enough -- there were eight invited to the NFL's all-star game -- Irvin picked Dallas coach Jason Garrett and his staff to lead his team in Sunday's game at University of Phoenix Stadium.

The only Cowboys player not picked was L.P. Ladouceur, and he had already been designated for the other team as a "need" player. Tony Romo was the second-overall pick of the draft, behind Andrew Luck. Dez Bryant pulled out of the Pro Bowl with what has been termed a "lingering groin injury". Jason Witten was added to the team when Broncos tight end Julius Thomas was injured. Witten has quite the Pro Bowl legacy.

It will be Witten's 10th Pro Bowl in 12 seasons. With the honor, only Hall of Famer Bob Lilly will have more Pro Bowls as a Cowboy than Witten. Hall of Famers Larry Allen and Mel Renfro also played in 10.

Here are the complete Pro Bowl rosters.

Team Carter


John Harbaugh


QB Andrew Luck
QB Drew Brees
QB Andy Dalton
RB Jamaal Charles
RB Justin Forsett
RB Alfred Morris
FB John Kuhn
WR Antonio Brown
WR A.J. Green
WR T.Y. Hilton
WR Jordy Nelson
TE Martellus Bennett
TE Greg Olsen
OT Joe Staley
OT Duane Brown
OT Ryan Clady
OG Josh Sitton
OG Evan Mathis
OG Mike Pouncey
OC Maurkice Pouncey
OC Jason Kelce


DE J.J. Watt
DE Mario Williams
DE Calais Campbell
DT Marcell Dareus
DT Dontari Poe
DT Kyle Williams
OLB Justin Houston
OLB Connor Barwin
OLB Tamba Hali
ILB C.J. Mosley
ILB Lawrence Timmons
CB Patrick Peterson
CB Antonio Cromartie
CB Aqib Talib
CB Sam Shields
S Donte Whitner
S Glover Quin
S Antoine Bethea

Special teams

K Cody Parkey
P Pat McAfee
PR Devin Hester
ST Justin Bethel
LS Jon Dorenbos

Team Irvin


Jason Garrett


QB Tony Romo
QB Matthew Stafford
QB Matt Ryan
RB DeMarco Murray
RB Mark Ingram
RB C.J. Anderson
FB Marcel Reece
WR Odell Beckham Jr.
WR Randall Cobb
WR Emmanuel Sanders
WR Golden Tate
TE Jimmy Graham
TE Jason Witten
OT Tyron Smith
OT Joe Thomas
OT Trent Williams
OG Zach Martin
OG Marshal Yanda
OG Kyle Long
OC Travis Frederick
OC Nick Mangold


DE Cameron Wake
DE Robert Quinn
DE DeMarcus Ware
DT Aaron Donald
DT Geno Atkins
DT Sheldon Richardson
OLB Von Miller
OLB Clay Matthews
OLB Elvis Dumervil
ILB Luke Kuechley
ILB D'Qwell Jackson
CB Joe Haden
CB Vontae Davis
CB Brent Grimes
CB Chris Harris
S T.J. Ward
S Eric Weddle
S Mike Adams

Special teams

K Adam Vinatieri
P Kevin Huber
PR Darren Sproles
ST Darrell Stuckey
LS L.P. Ladouceur

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys