clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Six Cowboys Rank Among Top Ten At Their Position In Pro Bowl Voting

Travis Frederick, Tyron Smith, and Zack Martin are the leading vote-getters for the Cowboys in Pro Bowl voting by the fans, but that doesn't automatically mean any of them will make the Pro Bowl.

Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

With just a week of fan voting remaining for the 2015 NFL Pro Bowl, six Dallas Cowboys rank in the Top 10 at their respective position groups in the latest Pro Bowl fan voting, according to data from the NFL.

Other Cowboys players recognized in the Pro Bowl fan vote so far are Dan Bailey, Jason Witten, and Sean Lee. Here's the full table of all 11 Cowboys.

Player Position No. of Votes Position Rank
Travis Frederick OC 89,812 4th
Tyron Smith OT 82,747 5th
Zack Martin OG 86,245 6th
Dan Bailey K 45,053 7th
Jason Witten TE 61,057 8th
Sean Lee OLB 69,118 10th

There won't be a lot of Cowboys players making the trip to Hawaii this year.

88 players will eventually be eligible for the Pro Bowl draft that will be conducted during the week leading up to the game on January 31, 2016. Those 88 spots will be split as follows:

8 spots: WR, CB

6 spots: QB, RB, OT, OG, DE, DT, OLB, S

4 Spots: TE, OC, ILB

2 Spots: FB, P, K, Return Specialist, Long Snapper, Special teamer.

That means that Travis Frederick, Tyron Smith, and Zack Martin would all make the Pro Bowl - if the coaches and players vote the same way as the fans do. However, no other Cowboys player would currently make the Pro Bowl.

Obviously, more players could be added to the Pro Bowl roster either as injury replacements or as replacements for Super Bowl-bound players, so players like Jason Witten and Sean Lee who are ranked little further down at their positions could still make the Pro Bowl.

The Pro Bowl players are determined by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches, with players and coaches casting their votes once the fan vote closes. Each group’s vote counts one-third toward determining the 88 All-Star players who will be eligible for the Pro Bowl Draft, and those two groups might still get a Cowboys player into the Pro Bowl who doesn't currently appear in the fan vote. The Pro Bowl players will be announced on Tuesday, December 22, live on NFL Network.

The 2016 Pro Bowl will continue using the revised game format that debuted with the 2014 Pro Bowl, with NFL Legends captains Michael Irvin and Jerry Rice having final say over Pro Bowl Draft decisions. The Pro Bowl will remain "unconferenced," meaning players will be selected without regard to conference.

At 4-8, it shouldn't come as much of a surprise that the Cowboys won't be sending many players to the Pro Bowl this year. But they still lead the NFC East with 6 players on the fan vote tally sheet.

The Giants have five players: WR Odell Beckham (No.1), RS Dwayne Harris (3), K Josh Brown (5), QB Eli Manning (9), CB Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (10).

The Eagles have three players: RS Darren Sproles (7), FS Malcolm Jenkins (9), DE Fletcher Cox (10).

The Redskins don't have anybody among the top ten at any position.

If you haven't voted for your favorite Cowboys players yet, go to and cast your vote. Multiple times. Every day.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys