clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Which 2014 NFC Playoff Teams Won't Make The 2015 NFC Playoffs?

In the parity-driven NFL, about half the playoff teams churn every year. This means that some of last year's much-hyped playoff teams are in for a rude awakening in 2015.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Since the league moved to a 12-team playoff format in 1990, an average of about six new teams made the playoffs every year. Only twice, in 1994 and 2012, did that number dip to four teams. This long history of churn among NFL teams means that it's highly probable that five or six teams that did not make the playoffs in 2014 will make the playoffs in 2015.

Six teams make the playoffs in the NFC every year, and the odds are good that some of last year's playoff teams will stumble. Last season, exactly half of the NFC East teams changed versus 2013. The Packers, Seahawks, and Panthers repeated as playoff participants from 2013, while the Cowboys, Cardinals, and Lions made the 2014 playoffs after missing out the previous year. They replaced the Eagles, Saints, and 49ers, who failed to repeat their playoff appearances from 2013. Coincidentally, that means that nine of the 16 NFC teams made the playoffs the last two seasons.

Which brings us to our question of the day: Last year, the NFC was represented, in order of seeding, by the Seahawks, Packers, Cowboys, Panthers, Cardinals, and Lions. Which of these teams do you think are in for a rude awakening in 2015 and will not make it back to the playoffs?

Place your vote in the attached poll. We'll assume that the three teams that get the most votes will not make the playoffs this season. In a follow-up post, you'll be able to vote on which three new teams you think will make it to the postseason this year.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys