clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dallas Cowboys Roster 2016: 53-Man Roster Finalized (For Now)

It may not last more than a few hours, but for now the Dallas Cowboys have an official 53-man roster.

With the latest releases announced shortly before the 4:00 pm EST deadline for the roster cuts, the Dallas Cowboys have trimmed their roster to the league-mandated 53 players.

So now we have it, the first official 53-man roster of the 2016 Dallas Cowboys. Granted, this particular iteration of the roster may not last for more than a couple of hours. Over the next few days, the Cowboys will work the waiver wire and review their free agency options as they look to continue building their roster with further potential transactions.

But for now, these are your 2016 Dallas Cowboys:

QB Tony Romo
QB Dak Prescott
QB Jameill Showers

RB Ezekiel Elliott
RB Alfred Morris
RB Lance Dunbar
RB Darius Jackson

FB Keith Smith
FB Rod Smith

WR Dez Bryant
WR Terrance Williams
WR Cole Beasley
WR Brice Butler
WR Lucky Whitehead

TE Jason Witten
TE Gavin Escobar
TE Geoff Swaim

OT Tyron Smith
OT Doug Free
OT Chaz Green

C Travis Frederick
OG Zack Martin
OG La'el Collins
OG Ronald Leary
OG Joe Looney

DE Benson Mayowa
DE Jack Crawford
DE David Irving
DE Charles Tapper

DT Tyrone Crawford
DT Terrell McClain
DT Maliek Collins
DT Cedric Thornton

LB Sean Lee
LB Anthony Hitchens
LB Kyle Wilber
LB Justin Durant
LB Damien Wilson
LB Andrew Gachkar
LB Mark Nzeocha

CB Brandon Carr
CB Morris Claiborne
CB Orlando Scandrick
CB Anthony Brown
CB Dax Swanson

S Barry Church
S Byron Jones
S Jeff Heath
S J.J. Wilcox
S Kavon Frazier

PK Dan Bailey
P Chris Jones
LS LP Ladouceur

It is worth pointing out that almost all 2016 draft picks made the team. Sixth-round TE Rico Gathers is the only one who didn't; he'll have to make the team via the practice squad. Jaylon Smith's NFI designation was widely anticipated.

There are a number of players that won't count against the 53-man roster limit for various reasons:

Suspended: DeMarcus Lawrence

PUP: TE James Hanna

NFI: RB Darren McFadden, LB Jaylon Smith

IR: QB Kellen Moore, OT Cameron Bradfield

DNR: DE Randy Gregory, LB Rolando McClain

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys