clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ezekiel Elliott Leads Cowboys List Of All-Pro Selections For 2016 Season

The Cowboys rookie receives another honor.

Dallas Cowboys v Philadelphia Eagles Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images

The Associated Press published its All-Pro list today, as voted on by 50 sportswriters. This is considered the most prestigious of the awards. This year, the voting was changed up a bit.

For the first time, the nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who regularly cover the NFL voted for specific positions on the offensive line, a flex player on offense, a fifth defensive back, a punt returner and a special teamer.

Ezekiel Elliott was voted in as the first-team running back. The Cowboys also placed Tyron Smith, Zack Martin and Travis Frederick on the first-team offense. In a fix of the Pro Bowl snub, Sean Lee was voted in as a first-team member of the defense at linebacker. The Cowboys led the league with five first-team members.

Zeke had this to say:

"It's special," Elliott said. "Just to be able to come into this league my first year and dominate and just play at the level I'm playing, and just kind of get these honors already as a rookie, it means a lot. I was never even All-American in college. I was never a first-team All-American. I'll never get a Buckeye tree at Ohio State. That's the one thing that I regret the most.

"Kind of seeing it come into the league and making All-Pro this rookie year, it definitely means a lot."

Congrats to all those guys, especially to Zeke for making it as a rookie and to Lee for showing how stupid that Pro Bowl snub was.


Quarterback: Matt Ryan, Atlanta

Running Back: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas

Flex: David Johnson, Arizona

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Wide Receivers: Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh; Julio Jones, Atlanta

Left Tackle : Tyron Smith, Dallas

Rigth Tackle: Travis Conklin, Tennessee

Left Guard: Kelechi Osemele, Oakland

Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas

Center: Travis Frederick, Dallas


Edge Rushers: Khalil Mack, Oakland; Vic Beasley Jr., Atlanta

Interior Linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles; Damon Harrison, New York Giants

Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver; Bobby Wagner, Seattle; Sean Lee, Dallas

Cornerbacks: Aqib Talib, Denver; Marcus Peters, Kansas City

Safeties: Landon Collins, New York Giants; Eric Berry, Kansas City

Defensive Back: Chris Harris Jr., Denver


Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter: Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota

Punt Returner: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City

Special Teamer: Matthew Slater, New England

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys