clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Playoff Schedule: Higher Seeds Win, Cowboys To Face Packers/Giants Winner

The first two Wild Card games were won by the higher seeds.

NFC Championship - Green Bay Packers v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

The first two 2017 NFL playoff games are in the books, and in both cases the higher seeds won the game. In the night game, the Seattle Seahawks pulled away late in the game to put away the Detroit Lions, 26-6. The Seahawks discovered their running game under Thomas Rawls and while the Lions kept it close for a while, they just couldn’t put points on the board. The Seahawks take their #3 seed on the road next week and face the #2 NFC seed, the Atlanta Falcons.

That means that the winner of the Green Bay Packers and New York Giants game will travel to Dallas to play in the Divisional round next week. The Cowboys beat the Packers earlier in the season, but lost twice to the Giants.

In the afternoon game, the Houston Texans used a superior defense to stifle the Oakland Raiders offense and win the game 27-14. The Raiders were without quarterback Derek Carr and rookie replacement Connor Cook struggled most of the game, dooming the Raiders and sending the Texans through to the Divisional round.

Who Houston will play will be determined by the winner of tomorrow's game between the Miami Dolphins and the Pittsburgh Steelers. If Miami wins, the Dolphins will face the New England Patriots while the Texans will play the Kansas City Chiefs. If Pittsburgh wins, they get the Chiefs while the Texans get the Patriots.


Saturday, January 7

AFC: Houston beat Oakland

NFC: Seattle beat Detroit

Sunday, January 8

AFC: 1:05 PM (ET) Miami at Pittsburgh (CBS)

NFC: 4:40 PM (ET) New York Giants at Green Bay (FOX)


Saturday, January 14​

​NFC: 4:35 PM (ET) Seattle at Atlanta (FOX)

AFC: 8:15 PM (ET) Houston/Miami at New England (CBS)

Sunday, January 15

AFC: 1:05 PM (ET) Pittsburgh/Houston at Kansas City (NBC)

NFC: 4:40 PM (ET) Green Bay/New York Giants at Dallas (FOX)

The NFC (FOX, 3:05 PM ET) and AFC (CBS, 6:40 PM ET) Championship Games will be played on Sunday, January 22.

Super Bowl LI will take place on Sunday, February 5 (FOX, 6:30 PM ET).

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys