clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Dallas Cowboys have officially named their 2017 team captains

Charlie Conway would be proud, the C’s have been handed out to the Dallas Cowboys.

NFL: Philadelphia Eagles at Dallas Cowboys Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

The Cowboys officially begin their 2017 season this Sunday at home against the New York Giants. As it is officially the season that means the team needs new team captains, and we found out who they were on Wednesday:

  • Dak Prescott
  • Jason Witten
  • Sean Lee
  • Tyrone Crawford
  • Orlando Scandrick
  • Dan Bailey

Team captains are voted on by the players, and NFL teams are permitted to have up to six. In previous season’s the Cowboys have rolled with only five, but this year they hit the maximum and even tried to go beyond the league limit.

It’s understandable that the Cowboys wanted to add Travis Frederick, who was a captain last season. As it stands now the Cowboys have two offensive captains, three defensive, and one on special teams. Dak Prescott took the place of Frederick, and Dak as a captain isn’t shocking given his leadership of the team and that he’s the quarterback.

Many have called for Dez Bryant or Byron Jones to get nods as team captains, but that wasn’t the case this season. It was apparently a close call for some, to the point that there was even a tie, which might explain why the Cowboys went with a rare-for-them six.

Hopefully these are the team captains going out for the coin toss at Super Bowl LII in February.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys