clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A Cowboys dynasty followed the last Super Bowl in Minnesota

Is the universe re-aligning?!

The Washington Redskins defeat the Buffalo Bills 37 - 24 in Super Bowle XXVI at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis MN Photo by John McDonnell/The Washington Post via Getty Images

It’s a tradition unlike any other, really.

Every season, more like offseason, we point to past points in NFL history that somehow suggest that this is the year for our beloved Dallas Cowboys.


Speaking for myself, I enjoy little connections like this. It’s cool that history repeats itself in interesting ways, even in the most random ways. For example:

Super Bowl LII is in just over two weeks. Justin Timberlake will be performing at halftime. It is the first time JT is performing during halftime of the Super Bowl since the infamous wardrobe malfunction during Super Bowl XXXVIII in Houston.

That was the Super Bowl following the 2003 season, Tony Romo’s rookie season in the NFL. JT’s next Super Bowl halftime performance comes following the season of Tony Romo’s rookie season working for CBS. How does this not blow your mind?!

Back to present day, Timberlake will indeed tell us how he can’t stop his feelings up in Minnesota during the first weekend in February. It is the first Super Bowl in the Land of 10,000 lakes since the early days of 1992.

If you’re a Cowboys fan, and you hear 1992, you immediately smile. This was the Super Bowl preceding that historic season, Super Bowl XXVI.

The Washington Redskins and Buffalo Bills (then their second straight trip) met in the game of all game’s in the iconic Metrodome. Washington won, Buffalo lost, and Dallas was ready for their turn.

It ultimately would be the Cowboys turn, as we all know (and long for again). Beginning the season after Super Bowl XXVI the Cowboys won three championships in four seasons, solidifying them as a dynasty.

The difference between the 1991 and 2017 Cowboys (theoretically the year setting up a dynasty) is that back then the Cowboys were a promising team that went 11-5 and won a playoff game. We currently find ourselves wallowing after a 9-7 playoff-less campaign.

For what it’s worth though, 1992 was Emmitt Smith’s third season. He was the foundation for those Cowboys teams and the they rode him to those titles. Well guess what, my friend?! 2018 is Ezekiel Elliott’s third season! The math checks out!

Dallas had two first-round draft picks in 1991, selecting Russell Maryland (first overall) and Alvin Harper. If the Cowboys take a defensive tackle (Vita Vea, anyone?) or receiver (Calvin Ridley believers stand up) then we can really start to freak out.

Look, the Super Bowl being in Minnesota ultimately means nothing as far as the 2018 Cowboys are concerned. But it is worth noting that if the New England Patriots win the AFC Championship that, just like in 1991, an AFC East team will be making its second consecutive trip to the Super Bowl.

These are all facts. Hopefully they were fun for you.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys