clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Cowboys have officially named five captains for the 2018 season

We’ve got our captains.

Seattle Seahawks v Dallas Cowboys Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

There have been a whole lot of changes to the Dallas Cowboys this offseason.

Dez Bryant was released. Jason Witten retired. Dan Bailey, the sweet golden foot, was even let go this past weekend. These are strange times, my friends.

As there is a litany of new names atop the Dallas Cowboys lockers, the points of leadership are likely going to be different as well. Last season the Cowboys had six captains and half of them are now gone (Witten, Bailey, & Orlando Scandrick). Who will the new captains be?

The answers have arrived, we officially have our captains for this season. There are only two new Cowboys joining the three returning (Dak Prescott, Sean Lee, & Tyrone Crawford) in Zack Martin and Chris Jones.

Travis Frederick has been a captain before (2016) and he’s technically eligible since he’s on the 53-man roster; however, Zack seems to have gotten the nod for whatever reason. Please don’t read into Fredbeard’s health status as a result of all this.

It was predictable that Chris Jones would take over as the special teams captain with Bailey gone, and he deserves it to, if we’re being honest. Jones is one of the best punters in the NFL, he’s a veteran on this team, and he’s not afraid to pull the trigger when he sees an opportunity to better the team. Those are all captain qualities.

It is interesting to note that the Cowboys have only five captains when the NFL allows for six. In fact the Cowboys actually petitioned the league last year because they had seven that they wanted to name but were maxed out already. As noted, times change.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys