clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Dallas Cowboys announce team captains, three first-time selections

There are a few changes in the ranks of Cowboys captains.

Jacksonville Jaguars v Dallas Cowboys Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

With the regular season officially beginning for the Dallas Cowboys on Sunday afternoon, the organization is putting the finishing touches on the preparation festivities.

Part of this process includes naming team captains for the season, and that has officially happened as of Friday afternoon.

2019 Dallas Cowboys team captains:

  • Dak Prescott
  • Zack Martin
  • Jaylon Smith
  • DeMarcus Lawrence
  • Jeff Heath
  • Chris Jones

This list has a handful of different names than what we’ve grown accustomed to seeing. There are three first-time team captains in Smith, Tank, and Heath, both Martin and Jones were first-timers a year ago. There is no question how much this means to Jaylon Smith, though.

Perhaps there is no bigger sign of the times and how much change has happened for the Cowboys than to notice that Dak Prescott is the team’s longest-tenured captain with his third selection.

There were many people (myself included) who thought that Jason Witten and Tyrone Crawford would get the captain’s patches that have become synonymous with their jerseys, but perhaps with Witten returning after a year off and Crawford dealing with some off-the-field things it just made more sense to go in a different direction.

The Cowboys season is just about here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Blogging The Boys Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Dallas Cowboys news from Blogging The Boys